hasemidaho.blogg.se

My passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac
My passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac




my passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac
  1. #My passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac mac os x#
  2. #My passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac update#

The most impressive aspect of each of these drives is that it is possible to hold up to 2TB of data in a small portable package just a little bit larger than the size of a deck of cards. The blue Seagate (on the bottom) is the slimmest, followed by the HGST (in the middle), and the Samsung (on the top).Ģ.5″ (laptop type) - 5400 rpm - Micro USB 3.0 interface Gallery (L to R) The WD My Passport Ultra, the Seagate Backup Plus Slim, and the Toshiba Canvio Connect (L to R) The Samsung P3 Portable, the Seagate Backup Plus Slim, and the HGST Touro Mobile - (The Samsung and HGST added to this review on 1 apologies for the scale difference.) While all the drives are rather small, the blue Seagate (on the bottom) is the slimmest and narrowest, while the WD (in the middle) appears to be slightly larger, and the Toshiba (on top) is neither thick nor thin.

#My passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac update#

Update 1! Two new drives have been added to the review: The HGST Touro Mobile vs the Samsung P3 Portable.įor this review, we picked out a portable USB 3.0 hard drive from 5 major manufacturers, WD, Seagate, Toshiba, HGST, and Samsung and put each drive through its paces.

my passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac

Oh, and they were somewhat slow running over the USB 2.0 port.įortunately, technology has reached a point where portable, self-powered USB 3.0 hard drives the size of a deck of cards can hold a full 1 to 2 TB! And they’re fast, too! And until recently, most external hard drives were big, bulky, and required a power brick to be plugged in just to run them. Tape drives were never a good choice for consumers, CD-Rs and DVD+Rs were too small and too slow. This leaves only one question: Where to back up to?

#My passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac mac os x#

And Mac OS X has had its excellent TimeMachine feature for quite a while now. (Much less an easy way to restore a backup, if needed.) But Windows 7 has a good backup system now and Windows 8 has an even better one. Originally the problem of backing up was not having a reliable, yet automated program. And even those of us who do take backups, well, we don’t do it often enough. It is 2015 and almost no one takes backups. It is this author’s opinion that 2015 should be the ‘Year of the Backup’.






My passport for mac vs my passport ultra for mac